The Novel-tee!

On a dress down day, one of my favorite go-to’s are something we all have about a million of- tee shirts. For obvious reasons, we can’t wear them to work regularly or for more dressy occasions, but for your (hopefully at least one) day off each week, here’s what I look for in a tee shirt and why they’re generally awesome:

  1. Comfort- this one should go without saying, but if a tee isn’t comfy, it’s just not getting worn. Moving on to more exciting things:
  2. Novelty- just like anything else in my closet, I love novelty tee shirts. Something a little offbeat is almost guaranteed to get a few smiles throughout the day. Making other people smile makes me smile, so it’s a win-win.
  3. Personal- you likely bought a tee shirt because it means something to you, whether you found it funny or it’s a quote from a favorite celebrity, it’s something that’s pretty darn cool. As much as I love novelty print dresses and skirts, tees are like billboards for your personality in an explicit way that more dressy styles cannot be.
  4. Common Ground-  last but not least, if you think something is awesome and worth wearing, someone else will too. Tees can be a conversation starter, and making new friends is a fabulous way to spend a day off.

Although I love more dressy styles for work days, tees are a super welcome, fun, and relaxed style for dressing down. Do you have a favorite tee and what makes it your favorite? Drop a comment below and let me know!


Leave a comment